Give and take

In my previous blog Well that was rather disturbing… I mentioned how my megalomania was fading and how that I am realizing that I’m not going too be anything extraordinary. The comments I got from that post and the words of my loved ones made me realize that I have an influence on a few people and that to them I matter.

Every person in this world has a sphere of influence. Some have a huge audience, watching their every move, reading their every word, others influence only a few souls. What I’m trying to say is that with your sphere of influence comes a responsibility. You can either be good to those you get to interact with or you can be a negative force, draining them of their energy and hope.

I want to be good to those people who move in and out of my life. I want to bring whatever they need at that moment. Whether it is hope, empathy, a shoulder, a coffee, a sage full of wisdom, the friend who is willing to go fuck up whoever gave you grief or just someone you can relate to, someone you can even care for. What I’m getting to, is that sometimes part of being what your tribe needs is being needy yourself. That is also okay. It is a give and take relationship and affording someone the opportunity to give can be just as good for them as you giving to them. Make sense?

So how does this balance look here on WordPress? Sometimes I’m in a good space and I can encourage those of you who read my posts, other times I can be just someone to relate to and sometimes I will need your encouragement. The central theme remains like a golden thread: honesty. Being real.

Today I can be there for those of you who want to talk. I feel privileged to be able to say that. I know it won’t always be the case, but let us enjoy the sunshine while we have it.

So talk to me, my tribe for whom I care deeply.

7 thoughts on “Give and take

  1. Loved reading this. Balance can be a tough thing to achieve and sometimes it’s easier to write when you feel down. But taking the time to write when you feel good or feel you can offer support can be amazing. So glad you wrote and shared this. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I love this post! For me, this is what blogging is all about. Helping where I can. Being kind. Sharing my life stories that others may relate and not feel alone in their own struggle with this illness. Comments and likes to encourage, validate, inspire. Blogging is so much more than writing and posting. We all, as human beings, want to be heard. Its all about interacting, making an effort and being kind ❤

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

